Physics Nobel Prize

IEEE congratulates Syukoro Manabe, Klaus Haselmann, and Giorgio Parisi on winning the 2021 Nobel Prize for Physics. The prize was awarded jointly to Syukuro Manabe and Klaus Hasselmann “for the physical modelling of Earth's climate, quantifying variability and reliably predicting global warming,” and to Giorgio Parisi “for the discovery of the interplay of disorder and fluctuations in physical systems from atomic to planetary scales.”

Following is a sampling of some of their published works that can be found in the IEEE Xplore Digital Library. All of the below articles are available free to access for a limited period of time.

Klaus Hasselmann
Max Planck Institute for Meteorology, Hamburg, Germany

Study Of The Impact Of The Surface Wave Field On The C-band Model Function And The Derived Wind Vector
IGARSS Conference, 1991

Giorgio Parisi
Sapienza University of Rome, Rome, Italy

Janus: An FPGA-Based System for High-Performance Scientific Computing
Computing in Science & Engineering, 2009

Syukuro Manabe
Princeton University, Princeton, NJ, USA

Following is a collection of articles from IEEE Xplore that can help researchers review or build upon the work of Syukuro Manabe, including the Manabe-Bryan ocean-atmospheric model:

Climate Computing: The State of Play” (2015)

Climate change and 50 years of NASA observations” (2013)

Beyond the means: validating climate models with higher-order statistics” (2004)

FOAM: Expanding the Horizons of Climate Modeling” (1997)

‘Superpower' computers: The omnipresent microprocessor can hardly supplant the large high-speed computer in modeling complex systems and phenomena” (1980)

You can also find many more articles related to these topics and technologies in the IEEE Xplore Digital Library.