IEEE Congratulates Nobel Prize Winners in Chemistry

IEEE congratulates Moungi G. Bawendi, Louis E. Brus, and Alexei I. Ekimov on winning the 2023 Nobel Prize for Chemistry. The prize was awarded jointly to the three scientists “for the discovery and development of quantum dots, nanoparticles so tiny that their size determines their properties.”

According to the announcement from the Nobel Foundation, the  laureates’ contributions have “succeeded in producing particles so small that their properties are determined by quantum phenomena. The particles, which are called quantum dots, are now of great importance in nanotechnology. Quantum dots now illuminate computer monitors and television screens based on QLED technology. They also add nuance to the light of some LED lamps, and biochemists and doctors use them to map biological tissue.”  It further explains that “in the future they could contribute to flexible electronics, tiny sensors, thinner solar cells and encrypted quantum communication.”.

Following is a sampling of some of the laureates’ published works specifically related to these achievements that can be found in the IEEE Xplore Digital Library. The articles listed below are available free to access for a limited period of time.

“Tunable Infrared Emission From Printed Colloidal Quantum Dot/Polymer Composite Films on Flexible Substrates,” in Journal of Display Technology, vol. 6, no. 3, pp. 90-93, March 2010

“Block copolymers as photonic bandgap materials,” in Journal of Lightwave Technology, vol. 17, no. 11, pp. 1963-1969, Nov. 1999

You can find many more articles related to the topics of quantum dots and related technologies in the IEEE Xplore Digital Library.

You can also find additional articles published by laureates Moungi G. Bawendi and Louis E. Brus in IEEE Xplore.

For information on the 2023 Nobel Prize winners in Physics, see this related feature.